Former Chairpersons

Former Chairpersons

Below are the former Chairpersons since BUILD’s inception in 2011.

Syed Nasim Manzur


Our Newsletter

Listen to the pulse of the private sector development. Read our bi-monthly newsletter, Connect.

Asif Ibrahim

Founder Chairman


Mr Asif Ibrahim is the Chairman of Chittagong Stock Exchange. He was the President of Dhaka Chamber of Commerce and Industry (DCCI) for 2011-2012. He is also the former Chairperson of BUILD. Mr Ibrahim served as a Board Member of FBCCI (2012-2015) and was the Chairman of the Privatization Standing Committee of FBCCI. He is also the Director of Bangladesh Garment Manufacturers and Exporters Association (BGMEA) and Bangladesh Thai Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BTCCI). Mr Ibrahim is a Member of UNESCAP Sustainable Business Network (ESBN) and is the Chairman of the UNESCAP Sustainable Business Network Taskforce. He is also a Member of the Board of Advisors for BRAC Business School (BBS) under BRAC University and a Core Committee Member of the Eminent Citizen’s Platform to implement SDGs in Bangladesh.

Nihad Kabir



Barrister Nihad Kabir is the President of the Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce and Industry for 2021. She was the Chairperson of BUILD for 2017. She is also the Senior Partner of Syed Ishtiaq Ahmed and Associates. Ms Kabir is an Advocate of the Supreme Court of Bangladesh. She is a Director and Shareholder of Kaderpur Tea Co Ltd and the Daily Sangbad. She is also a Director of BRAC Bank, Infrastructure Development Company, Palli Karma-Sahayak Foundation, bKash, and Independent Director of Square Pharmaceuticals and Apex Footwear. She is the Chairperson of BRAC-EPL Investments and BRAC-EPL Stock Brokerage.

Mahbubul Alam



Mr Mahbubul Alam is the President of Chittagong Chamber of Commerce and Industry (CCCI) for 2021-23 and the Chairman of M. Alam Group. Mr Alam is the former Chairperson of BUILD, Vice-President of the Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI), Former Director of SAARC Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Vice-President of the Confederation of Eastern Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Governing Board Member of the Bangladesh Economic Zones Authority (BEZA) and Bangladesh Investment Development Authority (BIDA), Board Member, Chittagong Development Authority (CDA), Bangladesh Railway Container Service Ltd. and Custom Excise and VAT Training Academy, Chattogram, Member of Advisory Committee of Chittagong Port Authority, Director of the International Chamber of Commerce Bangladesh (ICCB), Executive Board Member of the Bangladesh Foreign Trade Institute and also working as Consul General of the Republic of Mali.